top of page

Shopping on a Budget


Keeping with the student theme, we have all been there where we have no ingredients to work with. You’ve had back to back classes, and all you want to do is go home and eat… but it looks like it's another evening with cereal.

As a student, it is very difficult to keep to a food budget. You go into the store with a list, but don’t stick to the list, instead of coming out with fruit and veg and other healthy bits, you leave with microwave meals, chocolate, biscuits and crisps.

We automatically assume that when it comes to shopping everything is going to be expensive or we are just lazy ... Like me! But while being at university I have trained myself to keep to a strict budget and buy what I need to buy. Since doing so I would say on average I go shopping twice a month.

So here a few tips every student needs when shopping on a budget…

1 - ALWAYS SET A BUDGET Decide how much you are willing to spend. I usually deduct all my bill payments so it gives me a rough idea on how much I can spend on food and how much I have to play. When it comes to setting a budget you have to be strict and I mean STRICT! If you want to spend £50 then let it be, don’t send £50.01 because it will be an opportunity to spend more. Always leave the credit or debit card at home, use cash, it helps, trust me.

2 – MAKE A LIST

The key to having an easy student life is staying organised, even if you're getting milk and bread. MAKE. A. LIST. When you’ve made a list it will motivate you to stick to it … maybe.

3 – DEALS & DISCOUNTS

They are everywhere, we students are living the discount life. From day 1 of being a student, way before university, I've been using my discount card...IT HELPS! Whether is the NUS Card, UNIDAYS, UCAS Card or even your Student ID, USE IT! The little vouchers you get when you buy clothes USE THEM. It may seem like its nothing with just 10% or 20% but its worth it, I cannot stress this enough. It’s the same with deals if you see milk 2 for the price of 1 or buy 1 get 1 free, please just do it. But that doesn’t mean it’s the same for chocolate… keep to your list and if you see a deal on something that’s on your list then, by all means, go for it.

4 - BE CHEAP…..WITH REASON

Yes, I love to shop, I'm a girl, it's in my nature but I can tell you know we ladies know have to save a coin. To me rice is rice, pasta is pasta, I do not really care about the brand so why to spend £2 on a small pack of pasta when I can spend 0.50p on a value pack which is bigger …(shout out to ASDA). Or you're following a recipe and you need 2 tablespoons of cream, I'm pretty sure you’re not going to use the cream again, so just buy the cheap version or buy a smaller pack.

It will be worth it in the end!



RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page